Accelerated Undergraduate Studies

NYU Accelerate

NYU undergraduates are required to complete 128 credits to receive their degrees. Most students accomplish this in the traditional four-year period. However, nearly 20% of undergraduates are using AP, IB and transfer credits as well as January or Summer terms to finish early.

NYU Accelerate makes it easier for students to map pathways that take full advantage of NYU's academic offerings while still having a full and rich college experience. Through the creation of designated acceleration advisors, a customized online academic planner, and the increased awareness and addition of two-credit courses in every school, NYU students can explore a range of academic options complete their course requirements in a shorter period of time. Interested in an accelerated degree? Ask your academic advisor today if finishing early makes sense for you.

Alternative Pathways to 128 Credits

Roads Year 1 Year 2 Summer or J-Term Year 3 Year 4

You have reached the 128 credits needed for graduation.✝

Traditional
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits
Enter with no AP or IB credits*
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
18 credits 18 credits 18 credits 18 credits 2 credits 16 credits 16 credits 16 credits
Enter with 4 AP credits*
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
16 credits 16 credits 18 credits 18 credits 2 credits 18 credits 18 credits 18 credits + 4 AP credits
Enter with 8 AP or IB credits*
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
spring
fall
16 credits 18 credits 16 credits 18 credits 16 credits 18 credits 18 credits + 8 AP or IB credits

* Advanced placement, International Baccalaureate, or other advanced credits

✝ Most schools and programs require 128 credits to graduate. Students in programs that require more credits for graduation can consult with their school's acceleration advisor to best determine acceleration options.

Find Your Advisor

SCHOOL NAME EMAIL PHONE NOTES
Steinhardt Kate Legnetti kate.legnetti@nyu.edu   All academic advisors  prepared to advise on acceleration
CAS Richard Kalb richard.kalb@nyu.edu 212-998-8140 All academic advisors  prepared to advise on acceleration
Stern   uc.advising@stern.nyu.edu   All academic advisors  prepared to advise on acceleration
Nursing Rachelle Rumph rachelle@nyu.edu 212-998-7386  
SSSW Robert Hawkins robert.hawkins@nyu.edu 212-998-5939  
GPH Julie Avina julie.avina@nyu.edu 212-992-9940 No undergraduate program, but Julie can support students in the blended programs
Gallatin Office of Advising advising.gallatin@nyu.edu   All academic advisors  prepared to advise on acceleration
Gallatin Yevgeniya Traps yevgeniya.traps@nyu.edu 212-992-9838 First-year students
Gallatin Cyd Cipolla cyd.cipolla@nyu.edu 212-992-7758 Sophmore students
Gallatin Matthew Gregory matthew.gregory@nyu.edu 212-992-9830 Junior students
Gallatin Ben Brooks benjamin.brooks@nyu.edu 212-992-9830 Senior students
Gallatin Meredith Theeman meredith.theeman@nyu.edu 212-992-7746 Senior students
Gallatin Jamie Berthe jamieberth@nyu.edu 212-992-9828 MA students
Tandon Melinda Parham mparham@nyu.edu 646-997-3391 Students will need to work with their individual departments as well, since acceleration options differ by department
Tisch - Photography Niki Kekos niki.kekos@nyu.edu 212-998-1932  
Tisch - Photography Patricia McKelvin patricia.mckelvin@nyu.edu 212-998-1926  
Tisch - Dramatic Writing Julia Attanasio julia.attanasio@nyu.edu 212-998-1941  
Tisch - Performance Studies Laura Fortes laura.fortes@nyu.edu 212-998-1622  
Tisch - Drama MandaLeigh Blunt mandaleigh.blunt@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Drama John Dietrich John.dietrich@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Drama Jennifer Dolan jennifer.dolan@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Drama Laura Hesse laura.hesse@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Drama Scott Loane scott.loane@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Drama Dennis O'Connell dennis.oconnel@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Drama Amanda Stumpf amanda.stumpf@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Game Design Kevin Spain kevin.spain@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Cinema Studies Undergrad Melanie Daly melanie.daly@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Recorded Music Alan Watson alanowatson@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Recorded Music Brianne Hayes bp32@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Dance Daria Kendus daria.kendus@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Film and Television Greer McKeown greer.mckeown@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Film and Television Wendy Kaplan wkg1@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Film and Television Gay Abel-Bey ga5@nyu.edu    
Tisch - Film and Television Julie Sloane julie.sloane@nyu.edu